Eleanor Roosevelt Fund Award

Established in 1989, the Eleanor Roosevelt Fund Award honors an individual, project, organization, or institution for outstanding contributions to equality and education for women and girls. The award is given for a broad range of activities including classroom teaching, education and research, and legal and legislative work in equality for women and girls. While the award focuses on education, the recipient need not be an educator.

2017 Award Recipient

SurvJustice, Inc.

SurvJustice is a national nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., that increases the prospect of justice for all survivors through effective legal assistance. SurvJustice enforces victim rights and holds both perpetrators and enablers of sexual violence accountable in campus, criminal, and civil systems.

Founded in 2014 by Laura L. Dunn, it remains the only national organization that provides legal assistance to survivors in campus hearings across the United States. SurvJustice also provides policy advocacy and institutional trainings services to communities that seek to better prevent and address campus sexual violence. By working on these fronts, SurvJustice decreases the prevalence of campus sexual violence through the United States.


Award Recipients 1989-present

2015: Juanita Johnson-Bailey An academic leader in interdisciplinary race and gender studies, Juanita Johnson-Bailey directs the Institute for Women’s Studies at the University of Georgia, where she also teaches adult education in the Department of Lifelong Education, Administration, and Policy. Her 2001 book Sistahs in College: Making a Way out of No Way received the Phillip E. Frandson Award for Literature in Continuing Higher Education and the Sadie T. Mossell Alexander Award for Outstanding Scholarship in Black Women’s Studies.

2013: Linda T. Alepin — Board chair and founder of Global Women’s Leadership Network (GWLN), a nonprofit leadership development and community resource for women leaders around the world and part of the Santa Clara University Leavey School of Business. GWLN provides a residential leadership program, Women Leaders for the World, as well as coaching and membership in a global cooperative.

2011: Abigail J. Stewart — The Sandra Schwartz Tangri Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Women’s Studies at the University of Michigan, director of the UM ADVANCE Program, associate dean of the Graduate School, and senior counselor to the provost. She holds degrees from Wesleyan University, the London School of Economics, and Harvard University. She has received the Henry Murray Award in personality psychology and the Carolyn Wood Sherif Award in psychology of women from the American Psychological Association.

2009: Wanda P. Hardy — Founder and President of CreditWorthy, Inc., a financial education organization.

2007: The Ophelia Project, Penn State Erie — Their mission is to serve “youth and adults who are affected by relational and other non-physical forms of aggression by providing them with a unique combination of tools, strategies and solutions.”

2005: Dr. Judy Brown — Senior Vice President for Programs, Miami Museum of Science and Planetarium. The Museum adopted as one of its core missions the introduction of underserved girls to science, math and technology. Dr. Brown led more than twenty federally-funded projects that have helped the museum to serve Miami’s diverse community.

2003: National Women’s Law Center — For over 30 years has worked to protect and advance the progress of women and girls in every aspect of their education. Participating in every Supreme Court case to address Title IX, the Center has played a leading role in helping to shape and enforce the law that mandates gender equity in education.

2001: Nancy Gruver and New Moon Publishing New Moon: The Magazine for Girls and Their Dreams was published to nurture girls’ unique voices, strengths, and dreams. Today, it has a worldwide readership of more than 100,000.

1999: Hillsborough County PACE Center — Each PACE Center for Girls provides comprehensive education and therapeutic prevention services to adolescent women at risk of dropping out of school, experiencing teenage pregnancy, and becoming involved with the juvenile justice system.

1997: Dr. Josie V. Tinajero — Director of Mother-Daughter Program which links Hispanic girls to caring adults, encouraging them to aspire to college and professional careers.

1995: Myra and David Sadker — Gender equity experts, professors of education and authors of Failing at Fairness: How America’s Schools Cheat Girls.

1993: Girls Incorporated National Resource Center — National network’s publishing arm that has produced pioneering research to create a new base of knowledge about girls.

1991: The Advocacy Press — Non-profit publisher of extensive resources and materials that to create lasting changes in girls’ lives.

1989: Ruth Leger Sivard — Economist who conducted a groundbreaking, world-wide survey of women.